Annual Report
FY 2021/2022

CO-CEOs'
LETTTER

“Fuelled by our relentless focus on growth initiatives in FY 2021/2022, we are well-prepared to further withstand the unsettled market dynamics.”

Tarek Müller, Co-Founder and Co-CEO for Marketing & Brand

As our first year as a publicly listed company, the financial year 2021/2022 further verified the resilience and adaptability of ABOUT YOU’s business model. Even though Covid-19 has brought to light severe vulnerabilities in the global supply chain, we are truly proud that our Company has lived up to its high expectations and managed to meet the ambitious growth targets across all segments.

We worked hard to leverage our growth. Constantly in motion, we have made significant progress with our four strategic priorities to improve the customer experience, optimise the assortment in our ABOUT YOU online shop as our core product, expand our international footprint, and scale our B2B business.

KEY FINANCIALS

2021/2022 2020/2021
User sessions per month (LTM in million) 135.7 89.5
Mobile sessions (LTM in % of user sessions) 85.4 83.4
Active customers (LTM in million) 11.4 8.4
Number of orders (LTM in million) 32.9 23.2
Average order frequency (LTM) 2.9 2.7
Average order value (LTM in EUR incl. VAT) 57.8 57.1
Group results of operations
Revenue (in EUR million) 1,731.6 1,166.5
Adjusted EBITDA (in EUR million) (66.9) (35.5)
Adjusted EBITDA (as % of revenue) (3.9) (3.0)
Group net assets and financial position
Equity ratio (as % of total assets) 49.3 12.1
Free cash flow (in EUR million) (155.9) (25.4)
Other key figures
Employees (as of the reporting date) 1,172 855

HIGHLIGHTS

+%
YoY Group revenue growth
+%
YoY Tech, Media, and Enabling
revenue growth
+%
YoY active customers LTM
in Financial Year 2021/2022

#AYINMOTION

#AYinMotion reflects ABOUT YOU‘s path to achieve its vision of becoming the global #1 fashion platform. Never standing still, ABOUT YOU has expanded into new markets, it has increased its distribution centre capacity and its B2B offering, and it has enlarged its COOPs.

The Go-to-Market Playbook

ABOUT YOU’s go-to-market playbook provides a phased market ramp-up approach: In a first high-level assessment, the strategic and operational fit of the market is evaluated. After, the soft launch phase fuels the collection of cohort data and the building of a local influencer network. Especially cohort data with regards to CAC and LTV are monitored. The four-week campaign to create initial brand awareness, the so-called Big Bang campaign, is split into a teaser phase and a launch day with large-scale social media and performance marketing measures. Then, ABOUT YOU drives conversion in a heavy customer acquisition phase to scale the market. In the mid-term, the market is expected to hit break-even and remain profitable.
Profitability
Scaling
Big Bang
Deprioritisation
Profitability
Scaling
Big Bang
Soft Launch
Deprioritisation

FACTS & FIGURES

#AYINMOTION

ABOUT YOU
ANNUAL REPORT FY 2021/2022

ESG REPORT 2021/2022

ABOUT YOU's ESG Report 2021/2022 is scheduled for 31 May 2022. Afterward, it can be accessed and downloaded below.

Geschäftsbericht
GJ 2021/2022

BRIEF DER
CO-CEOs

„Im Geschäftsjahr 2021/2022 haben wir unsere Wachstumsinitiativen konsequent vorangetrieben. Wir sind daher gut gerüstet, um der volatilen Marktdynamik zu trotzen.“

Tarek Müller, Mitgründer und Co-CEO für Marketing & Brand

Als unser erstes Jahr als börsennotiertes Unternehmen belegte das Geschäftsjahr 2021/2022 erneut die Resilienz und Anpassungsfähigkeit von ABOUT YOUs Geschäftsmodell. Auch wenn Covid-19 ernstzunehmende Schwachstellen in der weltweiten Lieferkette offenbart hat, sind wir sehr stolz, dass unser Unternehmen seinen hohen Ansprüchen gerecht werden und seine ehrgeizigen Wachstumsziele über alle Segmente hinweg erreichen konnte.

Wir haben hart an unserem Wachstum gearbeitet. Ständig in Bewegung haben wir in Bezug auf unsere vier strategischen Prioritäten bedeutende Fortschritte erzielt. Dies sind die Verbesserung des Kundenerlebnisses und des Sortiments in unserem Kernprodukt, dem ABOUT YOU Online-Shop, sowie die Ausweitung unserer internationalen Präsenz und die Skalierung unseres B2B-Business.

KENNZAHLEN

2021/2022 2020/2021
User Sessions pro Monat (LTM in Mio.) 135,7 89.5
Anteil der User Sessions über mobile Endgeräte (LTM in %) 85,4 83,4
Aktive Kund*innen (LTM in Mio.) 11,4 8,4
Anzahl Bestellungen (LTM in Mio.) 32,9 23,2
Durchschnittliche Bestellungen pro aktiven Kund*innen (LTM in Mio.) 2,9 2,7
Durchschnittliche Warenkorbgröße (LTM in EUR inkl. MwSt.) 57,8 57,1
Ertragslage Konzern
Umsatzerlöse (in Mio. EUR) 1.731,6 1.166,5
Bereinigtes EBITDA (in Mio. EUR) (66,9) (35,5)
Bereinigtes EBITDA (in % der Umsatzerlöse) (3,9) (3,0)
Vermögens- und Finanzlage Konzern
Eigenkapitalquote (in % der Bilanzsumme) 49,3 12,1
Free Cash-Flow (in Mio. EUR) (155,9) (25,4)
Sonstige Kennzahlen
Mitarbeiter*innen (zum Bilanzstichtag) 1.172 855

HIGHLIGHTS

+%
Umsatzwachstum
des Konzerns ggü. Vj.
+%
Umsatzwachstum im Segment Tech, Media und Enabling ggü. Vj.
+%
aktive Kund*innen LTM ggü. Vj.
im Geschäftsjahr 2021/2022

#AYINMOTION

#AYinMotion spiegelt den Weg von ABOUT YOU zur Verwirklichung seiner Vision wider, die weltweit führende Modeplattform zu werden. Immer in Bewegung hat ABOUT YOU neue Märkte erschlossen, die Kapazitäten seiner Vertriebszentren und sein B2B-Angebot erweitert sowie seine COOPs ausgebaut.

Das Go-to-Market-Playbook

Das Go-to-Market-Playbook von ABOUT YOU bietet einen gestaffelten Ansatz zur Markteinführung: Zunächst wird die strategische und operative Eignung des Marktes beurteilt. Die anschließende Soft Launch-Phase dient der Sammlung von Kohortendaten, besonders in Bezug auf CAC und LTV, und dem Aufbau eines lokalen Influencer-Netzwerks. Die vierwöchige Kampagne zur initialen Markenbekanntheit, die sogenannte Big Bang Kampagne, gliedert sich in eine Teaserphase und einen Launch-Tag mit groß angelegten Social Media und Performance Marketing Aktivitäten. Danach wird die Konversion in einer intensiven Kundengewinnungsphase gesteuert, um den Markt zu skalieren. Mittelfristig soll der Markt den Break-Even erreichen und profitabel bleiben.
Profitabilität
Skalierung
Big Bang
Deprioritisation
Profitabilität
Skalierung
Big Bang
Soft Launch
Deprioritisation

FAKTEN

#AYINMOTION

ABOUT YOU
GESCHÄFTSBERICHT GJ 2021/2022

ESG REPORT 2021/2022

Der ESG-Bericht 2021/2022 von ABOUT YOU ist für den 31. Mai 2022 vorgesehen. Danach kann er unten eingesehen und heruntergeladen werden.